Wondering what your Kubota model number means? It’s actually a code assembled from several parts that refer to different things. Here’s what each letter or number means from left to right.

Kubota Series Identification

The model number starts with a letter, which designates which series the tractor belongs to. Kubota offers only a few current series classifications: B, L, and M.

Kubota B Series – 20hp to 30hp subcompact tractors designed for lawns and small farms.

Kubota L Series – versatile compact tractors for heavier work, the L series ranges from 30hp to 60hp

Kubota M Series – heavy-duty workhorses designed for commercial use, the M series boasts 40hp – 145hp.

X Variations – if any series identifier is followed by an X, it is the smallest tractor in the line. BX tractors are 20hp, LX tractors are 30hp, and MX tractors are 40hp.

HP Numbers

The next two numbers designate horsepower and it’s a little deceptive. Horsepower ratings are not exact; the actual hp is a couple of points lower. You’d assume the Kubota B2301 model, for example, has 23hp, but it actually has 20.9 gross hp. Still, it’s a good approximate.

Chassis Numbers

Finally, the last two numbers on the end identify the chassis, and that’s where all rhyme and reason go out the window. For the last 15 years or so, the numbers have been more standardized. Before that, it’s anybody’s guess.

If your tractor is less than 15 years old:

  • Older B Series chassis numbers are 20 or 50
  • New B Series chassis numbers are 00 or 01
  • BX Series chassis numbers are 50, 60, or 70
  • Grand L Series chassis numbers are 30, 40, or 60
  • Standard L Series chassis numbers are 00 or 01
  • MX Series chassis numbers are 00
  • M Series chassis numbers are 60, X or GX (X and GX are 100hp or higher)

Nothing confusing about that…

Note: These are identification codes for Kubota USA. Kubota series tractor identification numbers in other countries are slightly different. For example, if you run across a listing for a Kubota M4072 with 74hp, it’s a European model.

Tractor Variation Codes

Once you get beyond the basic model number, you may find codes in your paperwork or  painted on the fender that provide extra information for that specific tractor. This information includes whether it’s two wheel drive (2WD) or four wheel drive (4WD), type of transmission, whether it has a cab, and more. Naturally, the more specialized the tractor, the more possible variations might be identified. While there is some overlap, in most cases, letter codes are different for the different series. For example, in the B series, 2WD is indicated by the letter E, and in the M series, an F identifies 2WD.

Position also matters in some cases. Letters that come at the end of the string after a dash can have a different meaning. TLB is tractor, loader, backhoe, while -T indicates that it’s a specialty tractor made for towing (primarily used in airports).

A few basic codes are generally the same on all models:

  • C means cab model
  • CS means creep speed
  • D or DT means four wheel drive (4WD)
  • E or F means two wheel drive (2WD)
  • HST means hydrostatic transmission
  • GST means glide shift transmission
  • N means narrow tread (mostly used in orchards or vineyards)
  • LE means Limited Edition

Here’s the big list for each tractor type:


B Series LetttersWhat it Means
D or DTdual traction (4WD)
HShydrostatic transmission
Bbi-speed turn
-Ttow tractor
TLtractor, loader
TLBtractor, loader, backhoe


BX Series LettersMeaning
LB-Rloader, backhoe, with R4 tires
LB-Tloader, backhoe, with turf tires
RR4 industrial tires
Tturf tires
Vloader valve


L Series LettersWhat it Means
DTdual traction (4WD), also sometimes written as double traction
DTCdual traction (4WD), cab model
DTCCSdual traction (4WD), cab model with creep speed
DTNdual traction (4WD), narrow width specialty tractor
DTSdual traction (4WD), power steering
DTSCdual traction (4WD), power steering, two stage clutch, live continuous running PTO
DT-Wdual traction (4WD), wet clutch (Everclutch)
FC2WD, live continuous running PTO
FS2WD, power steering
FSC2WD, live continuous running PTO, power steering
FSTfully synchronized transmission
GSTglide shift transmission
GSTCglide shift transmission, cab model
GSTCAglide shift transmission, 4WD, cab model with air ventilation kit
HChigh clearance
HDThydraulic shuttle, dual traction (4WD)
HDT-Whydraulic shuttle, dual traction (4WD), wet clutch
HFhydraulic shuttle, 2WD
HSTChydrostatic feather step transmission, cab model
Mmechanical shuttle
SSshuttle shift
Ttow tractor
TLtractor, loader
TLBtractor, loader, backhoe
Wwide tread for row crop applications


M Series LettersWhat it Means
DSdual speed
Ccab model
DTdual traction
Mmudder (specialty, for row crop or vegetable)
Nnarrow tread (specialty, for orchard or vineyard)
-Bbi-speed turn
-1large two pump hydraulic system
-CScreep speed
Ccab model
HC2WD, cab model OR high clearance
HDhydraulic shuttle
Llow profile
Mmechanical shuttle
OCorchard model
SSynchro Shuttle transmission
SUspecial utility, 2WD
SDSwing Shift transmission
CCcab model with cold weather package
-Ffoldable ROPS
-Rrigid ROPS
-TFturf special
Wwide row

Sources: orangetractortalks.com, kubotausa.com

Putting it all Together

Say you’re looking at tractors and you come across a L3560HSTC-LE. Now you know it’s an L-Series, 35hp, on a #60 chassis. It has a hydrostatic transmission, a cab, and it’s a limited edition. Simple! Ok, maybe not so simple, but at least you can figure out what you’re looking at.

One last thing to note. Attachments have their own identification codes that have nothing to do with the tractor itself. If you see a code on an attachment, it only refers to the attachment.

Confused? Call us, we’ll help you sort it out.